Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 31st, 2011

Homemade Vegan Butter

Hey!

Mattia came to Milan for the weekend so we got to spend some time together :). We usually take turns on the weekends; I went to his house last week, so this one was his turn ;). Tonight we decided we’d go out to dinner, and a mexican restaurant was our logical pick; we decided we’d try a new one, a bit cheaper than the one we usually go to. Dinner wasn’t bad, but oh boy am I stuffed! I guess that’s what happens when you have chips with salsa and guacamole, vegetarian enchilada as my main course, aaaand dessert :D: Mattia and I almost always order two desserts and split them, and tonight we opted for a slice of pear and chocolate cake and some pineapple.

I must say, I’m not really in the mood to talk about food, but I’m really excited about this recipe!

Lately I’ve been enjoying vegan baking, and you might have noticed it :D; but it isn’t too easy: sometimes what you really need in a recipe are eggs and butter.

Egg substitute? no problem, I have flax seeds.

Butter problem? that might be a problem for those of us who don’t have access to Earth Balance or similar products. And cookies don’t come out the same way without it!

So I searched the internet looking for a solution and found it!

Homemade Vegan Butter 

Slightly adapted by VeganBaking

1/4 cup + 2 tsp soy milk

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1/4 + 1/8 tsp salt

1/2 cup + 2 tbsp + 1 tsp refined coconut oil

1 tbsp olive oil

3 tsp granulated soy lecithin

1/4 tsp xanthan gum

Place the soy milk, apple vinegar and salt in a bowl and whisk. let it sit for 10 minutes for the mixture to curdles. Meanwhile, melt the olive oil with the soy lecithin, until all the granules have dissolved. Add the coconut oil so it melts, then allow the melted oils to cool down.

Place the milk mixture and the oil plus the xantham gum in a food processor and process for 2 minutes. Pour the mixture in a mold and place it in the freezer so it solidifies.

I carved it…can’t you tell?! 😀

After it’s solid, you can store it in the fridge just like normal butter.

I suggest you take a look at the original recipe post, because the whole process of making butter is thoroughly explained.

My thoughts on the butter? it’s perfect for substituting dairy butter in recipes! I’ve tried it in cookies for now, and loved the result. I’m not sure I would want to have it as a spread for bread…but again, I’m not a big fan of any time of butter on bread…except peanut butter, obviously ;).

Read Full Post »